Petromax HK500, dripping kerosene

• Hi!

I am totally new to both this forum and to these kind of lamps aswell. I bought a Petromax HK500 with top reflector, new in box off Ebay. It did work from the start, but after a few hours I started to get problems that I am sure you can help me with. I use to start the lamp by using the rapid burner for 90 seconds atleast.

- The manometer is broken. The needle stays around two bars whatever I do to it. Is the pressure really important for the lamp to work well? It did work from the start.

- After a few, maybe 20-30 hours of use, the lamp has started to drip kerosene from the top. It flows down on the glass and sometimes it drips from the reflector and it catches fire at the top. This happens every time now after maybe 45 seconds of using the rapid burner.

Could you tell me what I should start checking? I love this lamp. If I only could get it working as it should...

Edit: I am using lamp oil as fuel. Do you think that may be the problem? It says on the bottle that it works with all different kinds of kerosene equipment.

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von flux ()

• first, responsible for all kind of inquiries with issues with the lamp is the seller.
    why don´t you contact him ?

the manometer is not necessary for the function of the petromax, but only gives you a hint on the pressue.

if oil is leaking from the top (nozzle?), whe the handwheel is closed, there is an issue with the valve at the bottom (part #196) on the carburettor in the tank.
    perhaps the valve is damaged or an item prevents it from closing properly.

• I actually sent an email to the seller which told me they forwarded the mail to Petromax. I have little hope that they will aid me in this, since I have heard nothing in ten days. I will try to fix this by myself if possible.

Before I take it apart to check for part #196, is it possible that the fuel itself makes this problem?

• You can easy check, where the Petro drips out: